Sushi: California Rolls

Apr 4, 2014 ~ Apr 17 2013 : Sushi – California Rolls, Spring Rolls and Huanese Dipping Sauce, Scallion Pancakes with Ginger Dipping Sauce, Chow Mein Noodles.

My Task :

Grab all ingredients, prepare the crab meat, carrots, spread the rice onto seaweed, roll up the sushi. Clean Up – Housekeeper (Help put away dishes, make sure everything is in the right place, sweep the floor, clean countertops and stove)

.

California Rolls

20140408_091813

Ingredients

1 medium Avocado

1 Carrot

1 Cucumber

1 can of tuna/smoked salmon or crab meat (tuna should be mixed with 15 mL mayonnaise and a pinch of salt)

1250 mL sushi rice, cooked (raw rice = 375 mL + 560 mL water with rice vinegar)

Wasabi

Soy Sauce

Directions

1. Peel avocado, cucumber, and carrot and cut into thin strips.

2. Lay seaweed on bamboo mat and place sticky rice onto seaweed until fully covered and close to the same thickness and flatten with a spoon.

3. Place vegetables and meat onto the rice about 1/3 of the way and roll up carefully.

4. Begin rolling by lifting the mat closest to you and slowly roll, pressing down as you work.

.

My Opinion of the Lab:

This lab was great.  It was a challenge to cut the rolls and make sure they don’t fall apart, and to rolling them up carefully and tightly. I learned how to make sushi, and I realized that it is actually very healthy and easy to make on my own. The sushi tasted delicious but next time I make this recipe, I would be sure to add more rice vinegar.

.

Questions:

How could you use this recipe at home?

I would use this recipe to make a nice lunch at home, or if I feel like eating sushi but can’t go to a restaurant. I would use lots  more crab meat, and mix it with mayonnaise.

When would you eat it?

I would eat it for lunch or a snack.

Who would you serve it to?

I would serve it to my family, friends and myself.

How could you alter the recipe to make it healthier?

This recipe is pretty healthy already because of all the vegetables, but I could use brown rice instead of white rice or take out the mayonnaise.

How could you alter the recipe to make it cheaper?

To make this recipe cheaper, I could use canned tuna, which are pretty cheap at the store, for the meat, or just use the ingredients that I have on hand.

.

Nutritional Info of Ingredients :

Avocado

Carrots

Cucumber

Canned Tuna in Water

Imitation Crab Meat

Mayonnaise

Seaweed

Sushi Rice

Soy Sauce

.

Other Interesting Links :

Cooking with Dog – How to make Futomaki Sushi and California roll (video)

.

Philadelphia Roll Recipe

.

Imaginative Sushi Recipes

27 Imaginative Sushi Recipes

Leave a Reply

