Rhubarb Crisp

May 1, 2014 ~ May 30, 2014: Kyekyire Paano (Toasted Cornmeal Cookies from Ivory coast), Sand cookies, Chilaquiles, Rhubarb crisp, Apple Pie

My Task : Combine the dry ingredients, melt butter. Clean Up – Dish Drier (Dry all dishes and put them away)

Rhubarb Crisp

20140520_125141 20140520_125735

Ingredients:
1 lb Rhubarb, cut into ¾ inch pieces
250 mL Sugar
60 mL Flour
2.5 mL Cinnamon
250 mL Flour
250 mL Brown Sugar
125 mL Rolled Oats
125 mL cup Melted Butter

Method:
1. Combine rhubarb, sugar, flour, cinnamon, and put into 8 by 8 by 2 inch baking dish.
2. Combine flour, brown sugar, rolled oats, and melted butter and sprinkle streusel over rhubarb mixture.
3. Bake at 375 F for 35 minutes.

My Opinion of the Lab:

This lab was yummy. The topping went very well with the sour rhubarb, and I liked the sweet and sour combo very much.

Questions:

How could you use this recipe at home?

At home, I would use this recipe to make dessert and serve with some ice cream.

When would you eat it?

I would eat it for a dessert or a snack, or when I have a sweet craving.

Who would you serve it to?

I would serve it to my family, friends and myself.

How could you alter the recipe to make it healthier?

I could use less sugar, substitute butter/margarine with coconut butter, use whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour.

How could you alter the recipe to make it cheaper?

I could use margarine instead of butter, and just use the ingredients that I have on hand.

.

Nutritional Info of Ingredients :

All-Purpose Flour

White Sugar

Brown Sugar

Butter

Oats

Cinnamon

Rhubarb

.

Other Interesting Links :

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp Bars

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp Bars | ButtercreamBlondie.com

.

Rhubarb Crisp By Laura Vitale (video)

.

Rhubarb Dumplings

Rhubarb Dumplings Recipe

Leave a Reply

